The Asia Pacific Security Association (APSA) is the leading professional association of security practitioners in the Asian region. APSA was started in Bangkok in 1988. It was through sheer dedication, steely determination and untiring effort of prominent figure in security industry in Thailand, Mr. Sombat Pimsang that made APSA a reality in 1994 and have progressed to what it is today. Since then, Chapter have been established in 14 other countries namely Thailand, India, Philippines, Singapore, Malaysia, South Korea, China, Hong Kong , Indonesia, Vietnam, Japan, Macau , Nepal and the latest is Sri Lanka.

APSA, with members drawn from 14 major countries, is the largest Asian organization for professionals responsible for security, including managers and directors of security. In addition, corporate executives and other management personnel, as well as consultants, architects, attorneys and law enforcement personnel, are becoming involved with APSA to understand the constant changes in security issues and solutions. APSA is dedicated to increasing the effectiveness and productivity of security practices by developing educational programs and materials that address broad security concerns. By providing members and the business community with access to a full range of programs and materials, APSA leads the way for advanced and improved security performance. 

APSA works closely with the Government and Chambers of Commerce to ensure that the views and concerns of its members are taken into account in the drawing up of standards and legislation, and in their subsequent amendments and clarification. APSA represents Professionals, Companies and Organizations involved in consulting and providing security products and services pertaining to all sectors of the protection industry.

Each year, the appointed chapter would host the APSA International Conference and Annual General Meeting. Thailand Chapter ,as the founder chapter , hosted the first International Conference at the Queen Sirikit National Convention Center in 1994. Since then, each country took turn to host the conference as follows  


Year No City Country
1994 1 Bangkok Thailand
1995 2 Seoul Korea South
1996 3 Metropolitan Manila Area Philippines
1997 4 Bangkok Thailand
1998 5 Penang Malaysia
1999 6 Delhi India
2000 7 Bangkok Thailand
2001 8 Beijing China
2002 9 Singapore Singapore
2003 10 Metropolitan Manila Area Philippines
2004 11 Hong Kong Hong Kong S.A.R.
2005 12 Delhi India
2006 13 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
2007 14 Delhi India
2008 15 Hanoi Vietnam
2009 16 Singapore Singapore
2010 17 Jakarta Indonesia